Bridgwater & West Somerset Conservatives

Welcome to our website

The Bridgwater and West Somerset constituency is made up of the entire district of West Somerset, the town of Bridgwater and the Poldens. Ian Liddell-Grainger is the current Conservative MP having first won the seat in 2001, replacing Tom, now Lord, King who had served the constituency for over thirty years.

The Bridgwater and West Somerset Conservatives are part of the Somerset Conservative Grouping which is made up of the five parliamentary constituencies or associations in the county of Somerset – Bridgwater & West Somerset, Somerton & Frome, Taunton Deane, Wells and Yeovil – and carries out the day to day administration and overall campaigning activity for each of the seats. Based at Northgate in Bridgwater the offices are easily accessible to members of the public and crucially volunteers.

Unlike other political parties, the Conservative Party relies on the generosity of individuals giving donations to their local association and the national party.

As part of the Grouping, the Association has access to a small number of staff employed by the Grouping, but is reliant on help from volunteers willing to do a variety of tasks from delivering and canvassing to data entry and stuffing envelopes.

Bridgwater & West Somerset has two district councils within it's borders. Sedgemoor District Council which has 35 Conservative Councillers and is Conservative controlled, and West Somerset District Council which has 21 Conservative Councillers and is also Conservative controlled

There is only one aim for the Bridgwater & West Somerset Conservatives and that is to get Conservative-minded people elected to Sedgemoor District, West Somerset and Somerset County Councils and to keep Ian Liddell-Grainger as our MP.